First Person Point of View

Me, Myself, and I- Writing using the first person means that the main character is also the narrator. Using the word “I” is a direct indication that the writer is using the first person narrative. Everything that you know about the story is through his or her eyes.

Watch BrainPOP- Point of View to see more about using the fist person point of view (Beginning-1:35 only)

Benefits: It allows the reader to experience the story and understand the characters feelings.

Downfalls: It is common to begin every sentence with I, I , I, I… Boring

Challenge: take some time to challenge yourself to modify the sentences to begin in different ways.

For example: I glanced at the clock.
Becomes:
My eyes darted to the clock.
Or:
The constant ticking drew my glance toward the clock.


Instead of:
I am the happiest today that I have been for ages.
Try:
Today I am happy, more than I have been for ages.

Instead of: I leaned down and picked up a perfectly rounded stone.
Try:
The stone was perfectly rounded, and I leaned down to pick it up.
Or:
Leaning down, I picked up a perfectly rounded stone.

Instead of: I was so hot, and the sweat trickled down my face.
Try:
Sweat tricked down my face, because it was so hot.
Or:
Sweat trickled down my face.
Or:
The heat affected me so much that sweat trickled down my face.

Now you practice modifying a couple of sentences with the person sitting next to you:

  • I stepped out of the taxi and the strong wind blew my hair into my eyes.
  • I went to the market to buy milk with my friend Paul.
  • I opened my report card and I was shocked!

As you are writing your Autobiography think about different ways to structure your sentences to make it more interesting to the reader.

 

Leave a comment